Join Now

This Facebook feature is going away forever

Monday - 06/06/2016 08:29
You may have missed when Facebook launched its Notify service in November

You may have missed when Facebook launched its Notify service in November, which allowed users to se-lect f-rom their favorite publishers to receive notifications on news up-dates in the form of short summaries.

The service provided snippets of stories, which users could click on to explore in depth. However, it didn’t catch on, and Facebook has decided to shut down the notification-based news app, according to Tech Crunch.

“Thanks for using Notify. We’re transitioning parts of Notify into other Facebook products, and the app will no longer be supported,” a Facebook notification stated.

Facebook further told Tech Crunch that they plan to integrate the Notify capability into other Facebook products, while removing the separate app f-rom the store. The slew of notifications was growing cumbersome for the estimated 63,000 people using the offering.

“Since launching Notify, we’ve learned a lot about how to make notifications as timely and relevant as possible and we heard f-rom people using the app that Notify helped them stay informed about things they cared about throughout the day,” Facebook told TechCrunch.

The offering will likely be incorporated into Facebook Messenger, a natural transition as the social network continues to explore chat bot capabilities that also push out news.

 

However, the dismantling of Notify will remove the ability to set niche up-dates for specialized topics of interest for the time being, while Facebook looks into including it in other products.

Despite the loss, we’re sure Facebook will continue to dabble in real-time news up-dates.

The post This Facebook feature is going away forever appeared first on HelloGiggles.

Author: Yahoo Tech

 Key: facebook

Total notes of this article: 0 in 0 rating

Click on stars to rate this article

  Reader Comments

Newer articles

Older articles

Top
You did not use the site, Click here to remain logged. Timeout: 60 second